Pots And Adrenalin

carinara

Hello everybody.

Living with POTS and lots of orhostatic Problems for many years, i do now know many of my triggers.

But there is one thing were i am kind of helpless and dont really know what to do and how to behave.

I know that my body overreacts to any kind of stress, positiv and negativ. When iam aware of a upcomming situation that can set me off, i try to prepare myself for it. But sometimes this just doesnt work.

Yesterday for example.

Monday is the day were i have to work for 8 hours (the rest of the week i work 5 hours a day).

I work as a secretary and iam so glad that i can sit down allmost all the time.

With many tricks and a lot of adjustments i can manage my job ok most of the time.

I felt quiet good yesterday and didnt have to many symptoms. Then all of a sudden i wittnessed how somebody got fired. I felt sorry for that person but tried to stay calm and get on with my work (I didnt even know that person anyway). All of a sudden i could feel the adrenalin shooting in. My heart startet to pound like crazy, my hands got cold and sweaty, i had bad visual problems and i felt very very dizzy. It feels as if my body got ist own brain and reacts how it wants to. I think i can handle most situation in life if it comes to handling them psycholocically but how my body reacts is a different story.

Because i experienced these symptoms so many times before, i usually dont panick. But they still scare me.