Managing Your Kids Lives When You Are Housebound...

Hope

I know there are a lot of parents with POTS on here. I wondered if there are any tips anybody would like to share? I've been muddling through this bad stretch for almost 2 years. My Cardiologist believes that I have had POTS since I was a teenager and that it's been waxing and waning since then. So I keep telling myself that I am going to pull out of this bad stretch if I keep working on it. Whether that happens or not, in the mean time my youngest son is sentenced to the effects of my illness. My husband works (thank the Lord), even though he has his own health issues, and my other children are grown adults with jobs, college, and their lives. They all do pitch in but it's really not enough. Most of the time he is with me and I can't get him out to be social very often. If I could afford it, I think I would hire a part time Nanny, but with only one of us working it's just not in the budget. I make myself feel better by thinking that he has it better than a lot of other kids in the world, and he really does. But I thought I would see what some of you all do with managing your kids lives when you are housebound?

I have 4 kids- 15, 13, 11 and 9. I was homebound for the first 9 mos and now I get out but my driving is very limited and some days, like today, I'm in bed all day and driving is out of the question. It may be different when you only have one at home but I can tell you that this illness has caused both challenges and blessings for my children. Not sure what info would be most helpful.

Maybe you can help me understand your situation more.

How old is your youngest? Does he go to school, have outside activities, neighbor friends.? How active is dad in his life? Do you have a support system of family and friends to help?