Social Security Denial

Hello everyone!

Well, I received my denial from SS today. I applied in August and just heard today. Of course they said that they think I am able to work (and of course i'm not and haven't been able to for over 3 years).

Next step, I have to appeal within 60 days.

Just wanted to share the news. I'm pretty disappointed but I'm ok with it - especially since this is my first time applying.

Lisa

Ouch! Sorry to hear about the denial. but I hear that can be very common the first attempt, especially invisible illnesses.

Hope you get a good attorney and frequent the disinissues site...I joined there while going thru my last review (had 3 in 15 years) and they were MOST HELPFUL.

I got the short form first..months later the long form. THEN a month after THAT was sent in some LIVING questionnaire and I forget the other one, Daily Activities. These things were SO DEPRESSING and asked details of how my life has been altered since being ill. I mention this because the website helped me every step of the way and the mistakes I made on the short form that led to the next steps. *sigh*

That website was PRICELESS in not only what to say but what NOT TO SAY. It's all in the WORDING...they were simply amazing.

One of the head mods can be very snippy and kinda hateful but she KNOWS SO MUCH and was very helpful to me...just how she is...don't take it personally.

I can't recommend that site enough though I have no affiliation with them. I eventually stopped getting the emails a few months after geting the review finished though I learned a lot reading about all the different hoops people go through. It's very enlightening place. And "the system' makes it TOUGH for everybody.

I wish you luck and remember, as you go through the hassles and there will be many, it's HOW THE SYSTEM is set up. It's NOT YOU. If you can remember that and read the private emails on the aforementioned group, you will get through whatever steps it takes to get your disability.