Really Annoyed!

Rachel Cox

Hi, I know many of you will have discussed this before, so please bear with me, I need to vent!

I went to my daughter's parent teacher interview yesterday. it was a massive challenge to even get out the door yesterday, it was a bad day following a really bad night. but i did get out the door.

when I got to the pre-school, with my two children in tow (you know the marathon, just getting out of the car had me spent) I was greeted by the centre supervisor who said

"Hi Rachel, how are you? -no, wait, I asked you that yesterday and regretted it!"

she then motioned me into the interview room to discuss my daughters progress.

I know I am sensitive to people's dismissal of how I am feeling, but I felt really aggrieved yesterday. I am a teacher myself and I thought that comment was so insensitive and unprofessional. I was on the back foot immediately. I want to address the issue with her or the centre but I also don't want to make things awkward. I don't like making waves.

It's just that I think them not 'getting it' is a real problem. Not getting it means they don't understand my kids either.

They said that my daughter is over-sensitive and cries a lot. Small wonder, we've had some really tough times at home lately, not the least of which was my sudden admission to hospital, subsequent operation and my daily struggles with ...everything. They think she needs to 'harden up'. I just wanted to cry. How many times have I been told that myself? She's only four for crying out loud.

Anyhooooooooo. I am grateful for this forum, your thoughts would be so appreciated.

Rachel