Inappropriate Stuff In Medical Record!!

Leigh8

I used to work in the medical field and transcribed doctors notes all the time, and it is actually very common to reference a patient in that manner, atleast with the docs I worked for. More common is " a young attractive well groomed female". I always kinda wondered about that myself...lol I have always assumed it to mean that the patient has no physical abnormalities and looks healthy in appearance but i cant speak on behalf of your doc and can understand what you feel uneasy about.

I've seen some of my cardiologist and pediatrician medical records and it's not uncommon for doctors to comment on the physical appearance of the patient. Maybe they do it so that they will have more characteristics to remember you by and to differentiate between you and their many other patients, but it's typical for docs to comment on physical appearance, energy level, general attitude and my pediatrician even commented once on me being a "bright" adolescent when he was still my doctor.

I don't think it's anything to be concerned about and don't nec think it's innapropriate, they like to get a picture of the whole person, not just your medical chart so they are treating all of you not just your symptoms.

As a nurse of over 30 years, I can tell you this is quite common. The MD is attempting to paint a picture of you as a patient. You are attractive, well groomed, and obviously care about your appearance. - Someone who is dishelved, unkept, poor hygiene, and dressed strangely speaks to a mental disorder or lack of ability to care for self. This becomes important when attempting to track down the source of an illness or pinpoint a psychological impairment - it also establishes a baseline for the patient - if you were to return to the MD office in the future and you looked markedly different, there is at least a record of how you looked at one point and somewhere along the line...things changed.....