Any Suggestions With Changing Bed Sheets

rubytuesday

Again, I am rather new to all this, but find laundry day a nightmare. So I have to set changing the sheets on a 'good day' which is still quite challenging. I am petite and short. We have a queen sized bed with mattress topper. I buy larger sheets so tugging and pulling isn't as much as an issue but I repeatedly have to go from one corner/side of the bed to the other multiple times, and repeat with each layer of the bedding. By this time I've been on my feet quite a while, bending at the waist while trying to life what I can of the heavy mattress to tuck sheets in with hypotonic arms and legs. I keep water in there with me and have to stop, rest and drink (and it probably looks to DH that the only thing I did today was change a bed). He does try to help when he is here by carrying the laundry from the hamper to the utility room (one less bending down and carrying a load). He helps get dinner as I'm done by that time of day and he does almost all the shopping (I can go short term but never know if it will be successful or if I have to sit right down on the floor if a chair or bench is not close--and I have to go with him).

I can wash a few dishes although it may take me 2-3 stops to hurry to sit, rest before tackling again. I do have a stool I could carry over to sit on for that, but not for changing the sheets. I reward my g-son if I can get him to help with dusting things down low when he comes over and while he'd be eager to help, (he makes his bed if stays all night which I have to touch up) he's not big/strong enough to help me change the sheets. I even have the bed on risers.

How do you all do this?