A Little Down

Hi

Just felt like writing a short post tonight. I am feeling a little down about this whole illness. What really bugs me is that I don't know what the future will be like for me. What really gets me is that sometimes I feel just fine and forget about dysautonomia and all I have been through. Then like today I took my daughter for a walk around the block. It was very muggy out and wham! felt horrible again. The other day I felt well enough to go the gym. Then I felt really depressed once I got there. At one point in my life, I was a fitness instructor and worked out constantly. It was a way of life for me. Now when I am able to go to the gym I feel very out of shape and have trouble with coordination if I take a class that I once was able to teach! I have trouble following some of the steps not to mention heart rate. My hubbie is a weight lifter and it is a constant reminder of the person I used to be.

I am a teacher and off for the summer now. This sounds stupid but when I am working my daughter is in daycare. I feel like I don't have to worry as much about her because she is in good hands. Summer is the worst for me due to heat. Now that I am home with her by myself all the time, I worry that something will happen to me and I won't be able to take care of her. Then I can put it out of my head and live a normal life again. But once again at a trip to Target yesterday I got very shaky and my blood sugar was low and I am now worrying again about taking care of my daughter on my own.

I have times when I can function very well. Then I have times when I can barely function at all. That is what gets me about this illness. At the same time I am also realizing how much it has taken from me all the same. And I get frustrated that friends and family just don't understand.

Thanks for listening.

It helps just to vent a little.

Susan

Susan