Hi I'm new to the web site 22, POT for 7 years

Sarah

I was diagnose with POTS when I was 15 and have been taking Toprol XL (Lopressor) ProAmatine (Midodrine) and Florinef everyday for the last 7 years...I don't like the idea of being on these meds for the rest of my life and would like and alternative, as i'm sure all of you. But the meds make me feel great and I have no complaints really since I've been on them. I am conserned because I would like to have a baby....but i don't know what to do about the medications. I was also wondering if anyone has interstitial cystis....it is where you feel like you have a bladder infection all the time....but you don't. There is no bacteria, your bladder is inflammed...

When I was 15 I didn't realize my hands shook, kids at school told my mom...I was tested for hypogycemia first. I shook so bad that I had a hard time getting fries into my mouth at lunch and had to use to hands to drink a can of pop. Once I was also clumsy.. Once I started the meds, I'd have spells of palpitations, blackouts...but never passing out...just crawling around on the floor waiting for my vision to return, numbness of lips hands and feet, anxiety, and at times my whole body felt as if it where shaking inside...till this day i don't see my hands shake...but everyone else does...

Is anyone else on these same meds, or have any of these disorders?

And to add the the midodrine discussion....After about a year the itching and crawling of the skin stopped. Even when i forget to take it for a day i still don't experience the sensation.

Welcome, Sarah! Glad to hear the meds make you feel better. I would check with a high-risk obstetrician regarding the meds. Some doctors will allow you to be on them at a low dose, and some will be against it. Beta blockers do carry a risk of a smaller baby (I think it's an average of 500 g less).