New

Marie

Another newbie here. I have been reading your postings for about a year and have finally decided to register. I would like to thank all of you for sharing your knowledge and experience. Through your postings, I investigated seeing Dr. Low at Mayo. By chance, my former neurologist referred me to a Dr. who used to work at Mayo with him. I have POTS, Raynaud's, autonomic neuropathy, and asthma. Like many of you I have my "horror "stories of misdiagnosis and endless lab tests for about 6 years. If I start it would take me days to get it all down!! My new neurologist has sent me to a cardiovascular Dr. It is astounding to me that no Dr. had done an EKG on me. He did and found that I have a slow message to my atria. He is testing me for amlydosis and adrenal problems. The neurologist wanted to make sure my heart was ok before putting me on Mestinon. My concern is that I have asthma and Mestinon is contraindicated in those that have asthma. Do any of you on Mestinon have asthma? I am also concerned that many of you on Mestinon are having adverse affects. The RX info. indicates that there is a medication the Dr. can prescribe for those affects. Have any of you tried it?

To backtrack a bit - My family Dr. is a saint! He always believed my symptoms were real and said he would send me to as many doctors as it takes. My former neurologist asked me what I felt I had. I told her my autonomic nervous system and immune system were both taking a #@#. She said I think you are right and did the autonomic testing. I had been telling doctors this for years. I was diagnosed a year and a half ago. Norvasc helps the Raynaud's. I am less purple and blue, but I am still cold. The neurologist said if I am not cold from the Raynaud's, I will be cold from the neuropathy. I am also one who uses electric blankets and heating pads even in the summer.

Thanks again!