New with many questions

Hi! I was just diagnosed with POTS after being severely ill for some time now. It took going to the Mayo Clinic in Arizona for someone to figure out what was wrong. I had been seeing a neurologist in Seattle since October because my legs shake so much that I cannot walk. I have been in a wheelchair since February so I am so happy to finally have a diagnosis. I have had a resting heart rate of 100-130 for the past two years but the doctors always overlooked it. I am now on Midodrine, salt pills, and lots of fluids. They also gave me compression stockings to wear. It seems to be helping as my tremors have become less severe. I am a 19 year old freshman at Seattle University but have had to take this quarter off. I have so many questions as I have no idea what to expect for my future. I am trying to decide upon a career that will be okay with this condition but I am not sure what I really need. ANY advise would be great. Also, are there any people on this forum from Washington or Oregon? I am trying to find a doctor up here but I am having a really hard time. Again, I would appreiciate any advise. Finally, I was wondering if there was anyone on this forum who was around my age (19). I would love to speak with someone who understands what this was like.

Outcomes vary. Those with sudden onset have a better prognosis than those who have symptoms from early childhood (that's me). This topic has come up many times before, so consider searching old posts on "prognosis", "recovery", etc.

I'm sure you'll get and eyeful!

As for speaking with those who understand...well... that's about everyone here. I hope you find many friends and much support. Nina

:blink:

Hi Alicia,