Family History

Aimes

Family History  

40 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Just wondering about everyone's family history. We obviously all have different types of POTS and symptoms but I'm curious if there seems to be a genetic link. I've already decided I'm going to have a very hard time not worrying about my daughters' health. My oldest is two and my youngest is five months. I'm praying they don't have this!

My Mother has had anxiety most of her life. She has had some POTs type symptoms but that's just my thought; that perhaps she has some dysautonomia that created the anxiety. However reality is when she just takes a little bit of xanax most of her symptoms disappear. I'm not a doctor so I really don't know which came first for her. She could be straight up anxiety - Lord knows I've spent my entire life being her crutch. My 14 year old has some symptoms that I'm watching - mostly eczema/allergy in nature. I'm not going to rush to make a wrong decision/diagnosis for her but she's on my radar....otherwise she is very healthy. I agree that thinking about a child living this life is haunting.

Sister has chronic fatigue that has mostly improved (hers was a very definitive case of chronic mono which finally disappeared after multiple years), but denied any ANS issues after I asked her a few times on my and my ANS neurologist's thought. We don't know about mom, since she died when I was 15, but I don't recall anything; she was often on the couch but she had cancer for 10 years, and it was definitely a result of chemo, not ANS issues. Mom and sister have/had much milder versions of my joint hypermobility. If I have kids I sure hope they avoid this if possible!