What Do You Do For Energy?

Albrown23

Just out of curiosity, what do some of you do for energy on days you need more of a kick? I'm a very busy nursing student and there are lots of days where I just need something to help me wake up. I already have a lot of fatigue from this stupid syndrome, so having a little more because I was up late doing clinical paperwork or studying for an exam not only keeps me from paying attention, but makes me far more symptomatic. So, this morning I had a coffee (I have a serious love for coffee and tea) but now I'm symptomatic. It obvIously makes my adrenaline surges worse. I'm lightheaded, getting dizzy, having hot and cold flashes, my vision keeps getting blurry...it's really annoying. So...what do you guys do when you need a little boost?

Excercise. Even when im feeling lousy, if i start to do a walk and persevere, i usually get a rush of endorphins and just

generally feel better for a few hours afterwards. If I can get into a cool pool in the summertime, for that hour i feel

like i dont have POTS anymore.

My doctor took me completely off caffeine. It's horrible for symptoms and causes them to increase drastically. I went from drinking 5-6 caffeinated drinks a day to not having a drop in over a year.

I am a nursing student as well. I find the vitamin water zero rise flavor helps me. No caffeine just lots of vitamins.

I'm glad you posted this, I'm also a nursing student and was searching for the same answers! Waking up at 5am for clinicals following a day of work and late-night studying is really starting to get me. I LOVE coffee, but my EP says no more caffeine. He is definitely right (unfortunately), I have significantly fewer mornings of crazy palpitations since cutting out coffee/tea/soda - I'm two weeks without so far! Now I'm also searching for that replacement!