New To Site, Diagnosed With Pots 2 Months Ago, Please Help, Im Scared

Hi, I'm a 41yr old nurse from South Florida. I have been very sick since Oct 2011. Took months to finally get autonomic testing at the Cleveland Clinic in Weston FL. Now that they confirmed that I do have POTS and dysautonomia, they have no idea was has caused it. The electrophysiolist stated to me "This is your life now, we really can't do much, you just have to get used to it. ? NO Hope. I felt like I was being abandoned. I cannot find anyone in South Florida that treats POTS. I do have a apt at Mayo Clinic in Jackson will next week for a 2nd opinion from a Electrophysiologist there. Am I wasting my time going 6hrs away? Do You have any suggestions.

Do not give up hope!!!! I felt like you do in the beginning and I completely lost hope. But after a long search I finally found a couple of good doctors. Even though it's kind of trial and error there are many different routes to go. Exercise, medications, salt/ fluid loading, compression, herbal supplements are just a few. For me a combination of all of those. I'm glad you found this site because it has also been great for support too. ((((hugs)))))

Welcome! Hey, I went to Mayo-Jax in February(12 hour road trip one way), but have to go back in April to see the cardio. I'm suspecting it is the same doctor we are both to see. I would be very interested to hear what you find out after your trip there. I originally went for an appt. at Mayo with an endo to get help with my low blood sugar, and he set up the appts. with the cardio and a neuro that I will see in April. Then I will meet with my endo again to get an idea what's going on. If you'd like to private message me with who you are set up to see, I'd love to keep in touch.