I Am New To Facebook Myself

lieze

Does anyone know if there is a way to join health groups but not have all friends be able to see what you are writing about?

I want to seem as normal to anyone who would read my profile as possible.

Is there a way to have confidentiality or is it better to keep health matters separate in a group like this?

I want to know, too. :P I want to be a part of health FB stuff, but don't necessarily want all my family/friends to read things like, "if I don't pass gas, I get so short of breath" :lol: . This is stuff I have actually posted on here on this forum! Because I am anonymous(and y'all too) then it's not embarrassing to talk about what truly we feel or experience. Maybe FB isn't an option. :(

It depends on the type of group. If it says "open group" then everyone can see the members names and their posts within the group. If it says "closed group" then everyone can see the members names, but they cannot see their posts on the group page. So, for example, the "Got POTS? We do." group is closed, and your postings there would not be seen by your facebook friends (unless, of course, they are also part of that particular group). The "POTS" group is open, and your postings there could be seen by your facebook friends.

Facebook fan pages are always public. DINET has a facebook page here: Dysautonomia Information Network. Non members aren't allowed to post, but they can see all of the content.

Rachel

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Naomi,

That's strange! The link brings me to the DINET page, both when I am logged out of facebook and when I'm logged in.

You can probably find the page pretty easily by searching on facebook. Search for "Dysautonomia Information Network." Make sure you go to the one under the pages category, and not the old one under the group category. The group will be deleted soon when facebook archives all groups in the old group format, but the Dysautonomia Information Network page will stay.

Hope you can find us!

Rachel