I Raise Unicorns For A Living...

firewatcher

I recently saw a new doc with a fairly straight-forward medical question that had nothing to do with autonomic stuff. He asked if I had any other medical issues, I told him about my autonomic dysfunction. That started "the look," and prompted his question about the symptoms of my autonomic issues. As I went on, telling him about my HR and BP fluctuations and the strangeness that is the daily life of a POTSy, he had an ever increasing, wistful smile of disbelief broadening on his face. It would be about what you'd expect from someone telling you that they raise unicorns for a living.

What else could you possibly say to get this type of response from someone? C'mon, let go and have a little fun:

I have a Yeti living in my backyard...

I brought my invisible friend for moral support; she's going to drive me home...

This only happened after I got a visit from the fairy princess...

Actually, what is really sad is that if I'd said any of these, he'd have gotten far more serious and not smiled at all.

• 4 weeks later...

Funny, Doc, I don't seem to have any of these problems in the higher gravity of my home planet, Pern...

Sandy

(extra credit if you recognize the planet name from the books, gatorade shots to the first correct guess! :P)

Funny, Doc, I don't seem to have any of these problems in the higher gravity of my home planet, Pern...

Sandy

(extra credit if you recognize the planet name from the books, gatorade shots to the first correct guess! :P)

Anne MacCafferty-Dragonriders of Pern

And you get the Grand Prize.....my utmost esteem for your literary knowledge! :P

• 2 weeks later...