Relationship Advice

Elfie

Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum, but have been reading for awhile. I was officially diagnosed with POTS in June of this year but have been having life disrupting symptoms for two years, and severe joint pain for two and a half. It is nice to have a diagnosis, but so far treatment has had little effect. I am a college student and am eight hours away from my family and support system. While I am at school, my support system consists entirely of a handful of friends and my boyfriend.

I try to be fairly independent. I am a full-time student and try to set up my schedule so I can safely drive myself back and forth to my classes. I am not a dirty person and can do some light cleaning. I struggle with laundry because I don't have a washer or dryer in my unit, so that adds a lot of lifting and bending and up and down stairs to my day. I cook and do great if I can use the dishwasher. I try my best not to be a burden on anyone, but there are times I am practically bed bound for days and really like to have someone around.

My boyfriend and I went through a real rough patch a couple of months ago. Essentially, over a period of two years our relationship went from casually dating, to seriously dating, to me supporting him, to him taking advantage of me, to it being more fifty-fifty. We have not been around each other for several months (I was out of town at the Mayo). Prior to my absence, I was getting in trouble for asking him to pick up after himself. A lot of our arguments centered around the fact that he expected to be praised for doing laundry and occasionally doing the dishes, and would get very upset when I would ask him to not leave food in the sink and dirty counters.