How Do You Salt Load?

desiree942

I'm pretty new to salt-loading, but here's my regimen:

Drink Gatorade (64 oz) - equivalent to almost a gram of sodium

Eat high sodium foods - Campbell's soup or Ramen's both have about 800 mg per serving - a meal is about 1600 mg! Boston Market frozen dinners (for me) or other frozen dinners are loaded with sodium. Triscuits, Saltines, exchanged pudding for ice cream, and ham and cheese on a bagel (lots of sodium in that simple sandwich - about 1400 mg). You should have seen their faces at the deli when I asked them to check which ham had the HIGHEST sodium! :)

Googling for "sodium content in food" is helpful... I just eat everything they say to avoid. Here's a really good link: http://www.umext.maine.edu/onlinepubs/htmpubs/4059.htm

I tried salt tablets, but they made me too nauseated. My doctor prescribed the high salt diet because my blood pressure was low to normal. It's important to have your doctor okay a high sodium diet since that can result in or drastically worsen high blood pressure.

A normal diet is about 2,000-2,400 mg; mine is supposed to be about 10,000 mg. I can usually eat and drink between 4,000 and 5,000 mg a day if I try REALLY hard.

I noticed that when I am hungry, I am looking forward to eating something salty, anchovies, olives, salty almonds... And I add more salt to my food...

I also drink something similar to Gatorade (Aquarius)...

(I have a low blood pressure. The other day, at the chemist, when they checked my blood pressure, they wondered how I could keep standing :) )

Love,

Tessa

This is a popular topic on the board as salt-loading is a common thing that people with POTS do to raise their BP...

Just recently there was a post called 'What are your favorite Salty foods" and there have been numerous other posts on the topic.