Exercise Bike

Hi everyone!

For people who use an exercise bike, I know that when I'm vertical, I get symptomatic. Add to that, being vertical, and moving my legs up and and down (to pedal), and it's a recipe for blood pooling in my legs. That means I would get symptomatic even quicker by pedaling a stationary bike.

What kind of pedaling do you do? Are you vertical? Are you recumbant? How is it going?

I use a recumbent--I've been soo naughty and haven't used it in months :( But, when I have, it's pretty easy for me--I have a hard time with the upright bike. I used to have one, but sold it at a yard sale a few years back.

Nina

I started out on a pedal exerciser - it is not even a bike and you can pedal lying on the floor or sitting. Now I graduated to a recumbent bike. I can do a regular bike too, but the recumbent is a lot easier. I used to wear compression hose while riding to help with the pooling, but I think pedaling and contracting leg muscles gets the blood circulating in my legs.

Thanks, Rita.

What I really want right now is a pedal exerciser like you mentioned. I don't really have the room for a recumbent bike and I thought an exerciser like you described would work very well for me.

I hope they are easy to find.

I purchased my pedal exerciser from QVC. They have it on their homepage today for less than $33.00.

If you go to igive.com you can shop there and donate to DINET. I have to say I love mine, but I get very fatigued for days after. I have trouble pacing myself. I use it for arms and legs.

Do you get the same results with a pedal exerciser as you would with the recumbent bike???