weight /POTS

san90x0x0

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to share how POTS has affected their weight (gain/loss). I'm a newbie to POTS and it is disconcerting to me what I've heard so far regarding rapid gain/loss. Doesn't these gain/loss leave you at risk for more health complications? I've been experiencing, like some of you have noted, severe stomach bloating and distension after eating. Do any of you think this bloating indicates that I'm gaining weight or have anyone experienced weight loss along with symptoms of bloating, etc.? I apologize for bombarding all of you with so many questions regarding this, but I'm concerned and interested to all of your experiences regarding this. Thanks!!

My doctor and I were never able to determine the exact cause of the bloating, but we assumed it was delayed emptying of my stomach along with blood pooling. I did loose a lot of weight at first, but now I'm a healthy weight by watching what I eat, how much, and how often.

If you have bloating, try eating smaller, more frequent meals. I've become a steady grazer. I almost always have something I'm snacking on, but I don't have any "set" meals. This way, my stomach only ever has a small amount of food in it.

Hope things get better for you, I'm still early in my diagnosis, and it's been really difficult ajusting to this horrible condition.

Hugs,

Lauren

Hi,

I lost over 50 lbs when my syptoms were bad and I was undiagnosed.; because of the constant nausea and my adrenalin rushes. Then I gained about 15 lbs from the meds I was taking. Now I leveled off and Im not gaining or losing but I do get very bloated after meals.

Peace

Janine

Hi, I have put on 30 lbs since June :unsure: . I know the Toprol makes me soo tired that I am not getting as much exercise as I should be. I am on Florinef now which caused me to put on 8lbs :D . The doc lowered my dose a tad. Wish I could go back to my origional weight!

Jacquie

Guest Julia59