Freaking out a little...

JenniferInOhio

Two times today, I've randomly looked down at my heart rate watch and one time it said 209 and then then about 15 minutes later...238. Both times, the numbers were only there for 2 seconds and then flashed back to 100-120 or somewhere around there as I was doing housework.

What could be happening for the monitor to read that high? I did not feel anything out of the ordinary. Not out of breath or heart thumping like I usually feel when I hit 120-130.

Is it a blip in my watch or could this be happening without me feeling it at all? Confused.

Hey Jennifer,

Let me preface this by saying i'm no expert in how heart watches work. I think though, that they measure heart rate by the interval of time in between two (maybe three) beats [shorter interval= faster heart rate]. If you have an ectopic beat (like a PVC), then it's possible the watch is just measuring between one sinus beat and one ectopic beat to get that really high number. I only say that because you said the number was only there for 2 seconds and then went back to normal. It would make sense because you didn't feel any sysmptoms. Anyway, those are my 2 cents for what they are worth!

Kristen

I have a Polar heart rate watch and this happens to me all the time when I am near an appliance or electrical device, such as my computer. It says in the manual that electromagntic signals can screw up the reading. For me, the screwed up reading is usually around double what my base rate is. I don't think it's cause for concern, unless you are feeling funny. If you have any doubt, though, check with your doctor.

Jenniferinohio,