Positive Thinking

ok, I'm having a really hard day here. The POTS is out of control (last night every time I turned my head I started to black out), and I have another apparently neuromuscular codition happening that's also out of whack this week.

Trying to keep my spirits up, so i thought I'd start a new thread about how our POTS may have affected our lives in a positive way.

A lot of brainfog now, so I'll start with just something short.

-I've learned to try to appreciate small accomplishments.

-I work as an artist /musician, my work is definetly deeper than it would have been otherwise

-I'm learning that there are people who really care, even those that I did not necessarily feel a connection with before

Hoping this discussion will cheer us up a bit

Ariella

Well, a few things I've tried to turn into positives....

#1 I have more compassion and understanding for anyone with chronic illness

#2 I have gained knowledge and experience with Social Security system and have been able to help some others.

#3 I have more time to volunteer at my church and am helping set up a book of local resources and information to try to help others who face a variety of needs.

#4 I recently (because I went to Mayo in FL) got a hotel off the beach and enjoyed the beauty of sunrise, sunset and a dolphin sighting or two even though I can't really be in the sun. It was a tradeoff I guess because the Mayo clinic is certainly not fun but I would have normally never treated myself to an oceanfront room.

hi i though that I would chime in here too.

I have come to have more understanding and patients with my self.

I have a better knowledge of how the ANS system works

I have even more campassion and empathy for persons who are disabled, no matter what there disability maybe.

I have realized that chronic illness can impact you life to the point of debilitation, and I learned to cherish the days or sometimes charish the hours, that i have that I can live life as a "Normal" person.