Living with POTS

Meghan

Hi, I was recently diagnosed with POTS (in December) after having symptoms of syncope, near fainting, fatigue, tachycardia, ect. for about ten months. I am a freshman in college, just starting my second semester, and I find it really difficult to live with POTS while attending school. I have to nap a lot, go to bed early, ect. while all of my friends are staying up late and going out. I am now taking Proamatine and I find that my energy levels have increased a little bit, and I am able to do more during the day. However, the POTS still significantly affects my life.

I came across this site while researching POTS online. It seems like a wonderful, supportive community. I was wondering if anyone is/has been in a similar situation like this who could offer any support, encouragement, or advice.

I am trying to remain postive and live my life as normally as possible, but I would really appreciate any suggestions or advice you might have for me regarding living with POTS. Thanks :)

~ Meghan :)

Hi Meghan,

Yea, POTS changes all our lives and it is difficult watching other go about everyday activities with ease, when we have to have that lunchtime nap :) I am also on the proamatine and have been for a year and 1/2 and it has helped with my energy level as well. I was finally diagnosed a couple of years ago and was entering a master program. It does zap you being in school and having POTS and for me trying to work as well. You have to find the happy medium and support for it, I have my friends and family that I can call and have a pity party if I need to :) This forum is great to because it offers great info and connects you with others that know what you are going through. That was a big one for me; my now ex boyfriend and some friends didn't get it and didn't understand why I needed so much rest. You are welcome to email me anytime you want. Good luck with school, it can be done, I just finished my masters in May :)

Genie,