Massage Therapy + Pots

Mary

Has anyone used massage therapy to help with their symptoms of POTS? or Has anyone found research to support massage therapy helping people with autonomic disorders? It seems like massage would be a benefit in normalizing the body. I have had hit and miss massages but not enough consistently to see a difference in my symptoms. Any information would be appreciated. thanks, Mary

Hi,

I am a massage therapist and I have had massages every week for years before I became disabled. I had POTS but was able to function relatively well. The only thing I can say is that you have to be careful when getting up because it can cause you to feel dizzy or faint. The reason is that massage dilates blood vessels. It also makes you urinate so you loose some blood volume.

I also had massages every week while I was working and I credit my ability to work for as long as I did in part to these sessions.

I also found an amazing reflexologist (hand, foot and ear) and these sessions tended to be a bit easier on my body while providing the same benefit.

On the downside, I also went to an eastern accupressurist and am convinced that the intense pressure used (let's call what it was PAIN) probably exacerbated my symptoms. I stayed with it for about three months than realized that my overall condition had deteriorated over that time so I stopped going.