Dysautonomia And Thinking?

yikespanic

Well I am into my third week of full time school. I am so very tired. I drag myself every morning. The thing is it is a little different than the usual fatique. It's been so long since I graduated from high school, everything, especially MATH almost seems like I am learning it for the first time, and they go so fast. I feel like my brain has gone on vacation. I have a hard time concentrating and remembering formulas. And homework takes me forever. I feel like I can't think as hard as I need to. It has been really frustrating. And some of my classes are 2 hours long. It's hard to sit that long, I seem to get as lightheaded sitting still for long periods as standing to long. Has anyone noticed they have difficulty with school and comprehension? I didn't notice I had such difficulty in these areas since being sick until the last couple of weeks. POTS really stinks.

Kim

Kim-

My son also has dysautonomia and it has severely impacted his cognitive functioning. He was so sick that he missed most of school last year. (He was in 7th grade.) I homeschooled him. As soon as we would begin covering a somewhat difficult concept- Algebra was particularly bad, he would have to lie down. He would start to faint. I was so frustrated that we sometimes did school upside down. We hung our heads off of the sofa in the study- with our feet propped on the wall! B)

Now that he's DXed and on a good treatment plan, his cognitive problems are sooooo much better. He was actually DXed with dyslexia while ill. As soon as he began taking the right combo of drugs, he read "Call of the Wild" in a day and a half.

For Mack lots of extra fluids, 6 Thermotabs, .2mg florinef and 10mg of Lexapro daily did the trick. My guess is that you need to start treating your POTS more aggressively and your cognitive fog will disapate. Talk to your doctor.

Best of luck!

Julie