Rheumatoid Arthritis

My husband has been complaining of "bone pain" in both elbows, forearms and wrists so the Dr. ran some blood tests and did x-rays and the tests came back with an elevated Rheumatoid Factor (RF) level. Fortunately the x-rays were all normal but we now have a consultation with a Rheumatologist in a couple of weeks. He will also be getting more blood tests done this week. He also has elevated MCH and Monocytes.

I am just starting to learn about Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA). I am hoping to hear from some of you that your RF factor was elevated but you do not actually have the disease or that it has not progressed for many years.

I am so bummed - this disorder just seems to lie in wait until it decides to pile on a new symptom.

My aunt has RA. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but from my understanding, if your husband has an elevated RF level, he has Rhumatoid Arthritis. His x-rays may have been normal because the disease hasn't progressed enough to show marked damage.

The good news is this diagnosis isn't a death sentence, and RA is fairly treatable nowadays.

The Rhumatologist will be able to help, let us know what the answer is.

Hugs,

lauren

Yes, they think they caught it very early which is a good thing as it appears the medical community has changed their thinking on treatment. They used to wait until the RA had progressed before aggressively treating but now they start as soon as it is discovered.

Now I am wondering about the auto-immune link with dysautonomia and if it is secondary to whatever else is going wrong in his body.

He is down about the news so I need to get my act together and perk up.

Hi there!