Information on Driving and Safety for people with POTS

Within another thread of mine was an embedded discussion about driving and safety for those of us with ANS problems. Personally, I am still a safe driver and my doctors have no problems with me continuing to operate a vehicle so long as I continue to maintain my treatment regimen (take my medicines as prescribed, do any prescribed exercises) and as long as I continue to be free of syncope. I have NEVER fainted from a seated position, I've had very rare fainting episodes from a standing position, and all faints were related to either extreme heat, long periods of standing and/or extreme physical exertion combined with heat.

Most people with mild ANS problems are considered medically cleared to drive so long as they have been free of syncopal episodes for several months and are complying with their physician's treatment prescriptions.

I wanted to share with all of you that the Vanderbilt website has information specifically on this topic, which can be found at the following url

http://www.mc.vanderbilt.edu/root/vumc.php?site=adc&doc=4789

There is a good deal of text on the page, not all of it has anything to do with driving, so I've copied and pasted only the section on driving below (if you go to the URL, this text is at the very bottom of the page).

"Driving Issues Related to Syncope

Patients with mild neurally mediated syncope have no restrictions on driving private vehicles and should have a 1 month event-free period before driving commercial vehicles. Mild neurally mediated syncope is characterized by mild symptoms (usually without syncope), occurs with warning, usually occurs only with standing, and occurs infrequently.