From 23Andme, I Show A Familial Dysautonomia Issue

sue1234

For any of you that have 23andme results, could you check your gene IKBKAP results? Specifically, the SNP rs3204145.

I am still learning, and definitely not sure of how I read these results, BUT, for that SNP, my results are AA, which only shows a very small percentage of carriers. It is the gene associated with familial dysautonomia, which relates to Ashkenazi Jews. I had read about F.D. over the years, but it is one of those things that people are born with and are really symptomatic. I am almost certain we don't have any Jewish genes, unless 100s of years ago.

Anyway, anyone else have an issue with that SNP?

Hey Sue. I think you might be confusing the literature because of the way the alleles are being reported...This is why we have to be careful interpreting results because a simple mistake and it is easy to think you have something you don't. :) I explained this same concept to someone on the phoenix rising board and it is sort of difficult to do, so bear with me here. There are 2 sides to a DNA strand, the plus strand and minus strand. 23andme will always without any exception report results on the plus strand. The reason why this is important to know is because rs3204145 is reported in literature on the minus strand. If something is reported on the minus strand you have to flipped the letters.

A=T, C=G.

Now here's where it gets even trickier because in this SNP the alleles are A or T. Since rs3204145 is reported on the minus strand, you have to change the A to a T and the T to an A. The risky "A" allele would become a T and the normal "T" allele would become an A. So your AA result there is normal. A good way to double check yourself is by adding the example family, "The Mendels" into your account. The option is in your settings and it helps to see if you are matching theirs genotypes. It isn't a bullet proof method, but it can help a lot.