Has Your Chest Ever Felt Like This?

I've never been able to describe how my chest feels to anyone, it comes out sounding weird when I try, i'm not good at putting my syptoms into words, i just wish there was a machine to hook up to me and some one else so they could feel what i feel. anyways, my chest sort of feels "inflamed" i guess we could say, it's hard to breath. It feels like my lungs are sponges and i'm trying to breath through the sponge. Like they are swollen or something. Does this sound familiar to anyone? Maybe you all could help me describe it.

I definately have periods when it is hard to breath. It comes and goes...when it is really bad I feel like My muscles are weak and I have to work to keep breathing. I also have a weird throat thing but I have spastic dysphonia so I think it is realted to that. Let me know if you have an questions.

Angelloz

I have a similar problem in describing the my chest discomfort. I have every gadget going to try and see if any vitals are out.

Mine goes like this:

it feels like pressure in my chest, like burning, and its tight to breathe, and i feel a bit sick but most of all I just feel very ill with it.

I also tried to explain this to a doctor and she got frustrated with me for being vague. But it's not a vague feeling - it's intense, debilitating and very uncomfortable. Sometimes I think it is high blood pressure and indeed sometimes it can be higher but not always.

Are you having any tests?

What are your other symptoms.

Hope this helps and keep me posted - I share your frustration.

Angel...... thank you. It also feels like work to me to try and breathe.

MomtoG..... the glue is also a good description which is similar.

Brethor..... yes, like breathing through a straw and inflammation.