A New Addition To Our Family!

janiedelite

I've posted previously about our struggles with infertility (all tests were fine, but we still couldn't conceive) as well as with adoption (my diagnoses made it unlikely we'd be chosen as parents). We also had our questions about how I'd cope with as a parent with POTS, but the neurologist at Mayo encouraged us to proceed and we have a ton of family/friend/physician support as well.

My brother and sister-in-law have been foster parents for a couple years, and my husband works with several foster children as a Special Education teacher. I worked as a nanny for 4 years. We decided to go ahead and get certified as foster parents last year. I have support from my local physicians, and we have several relatives close by who could help if I'm having a really bad POTS day.

So, two weeks ago we had a 16-month-old girl placed with us! :blink::unsure::P She's SO active, but she sleeps 12 hours a night and takes long naps in the afternoon as well! She was placed with us because DHS knows our goal is to adopt and there's a good chance she'll be legally free, although the process will probably take a couple years. She is amazingly resilient, a bit small for her age, but otherwise is developmentally on track. If she ends up going back to her birth family, we'll go ahead and look at children of her age who are already legally free to adopt.

She had a cold when she arrived at our house, and I've caught it (of course) and now have a sinus infection :D . But I'm still so enjoying my new role as foster mom! And it feels really great to be helping this little one, if only temporarily.

Just wanted to share the news! :)

What wonderful news! I admire your generosity and kindness in opening your home to children in need. I myself, and my brother, were adopted, and I can't say enough good things about the foster care and adoption processes. Enjoy your new little one.

Cheers,

Jana