How Do You Stay Positive?

Nauthiz

This whole ordeal has been devastating for me and debilitating. Before i got sick i was a weight trainer, i was about 170lbs and fairly fit, now i am 121lbs and underweight. I feel disabled and full of fear and anxiety and depression i never quite had before. I want nothing to return to being the fit person i used to be, someone who has a feeling of power and control over their own life. If anyone can give me advice on staying positive through this ordeal i would appreciate it. I am trying to recover that old me but it is not very effective so far, it just seems endlessly difficult.

This is a hard one. Either you are a positive person or you are not. But if you think about it, you can kick and scream and cry and whine and shout "why me!" and finally when you are a whimpering mess in the corner, you are left in the same position you were in to begin with...just with a headache and stuffy nose. You will appreciate the smaller victories eventually, like making it through the day. Fortunately it does wax and wane. Allow yourself to grieve for the life you wanted to have, give yourself some time, finally acceptance will come...for a while, then it will get hard again. Ultimately, as bad as it it, it does beat the alternative. At least you are still alive and there is hope for recovery and treatment!

How do you stay positive, I simply CHOOSE to, that is one thing that I DO have control over! My own attitude. :)

Hi & Welcome!