Shyness/anxiety Vs. Pots

jump

Hello all,

I've always been a naturally shy person, and things like public speaking tend to make me nervous. But it's something I've been able to overcome more or less in my adulthood, and now I'm a teacher, so I've gotten fairly used to speaking in front of a large group of adults. Although I wouldn't consider myself a wildly outgoing or charismatic person, I feel like I can be at a social function and be social "enough," without turning red or getting too flustered or anything.

However, every once in a while I will have a very extreme reaction to situations that usually only make me mildly nervous. For example, today at a staff meeting, I spoke up and shared some information with a group of about 20 people. I volunteered to speak; I felt perfectly comfortable when I started to speak. But then all of a sudden, my heart was pounding so fast and so hard I could hardly hear anything else, and my voice started shaking so badly I could hardly control it and I sounded all weird and warbly like I was really upset. My whole body trembled, and my hands and legs shook so badly I felt really embarrassed. It seemed like the sort of reaction I might have if I had true social phobia; but I've spoken to this same group of people countless times at other staff meetings and never had this reaction before. Maybe had a momentary increase in hr, but nothing that I ever really noticed.