Frustration By A Newbie

Hi there. This is my first day on here, and finished up my first cardiology appointment since I moved to Florida over two years ago. I'm a college student, and I was diagnosed with POTS syndrome seven or so years ago- and yet everytime I have to see a new doctor, they act like maybe all the doctors before have been wrong all these years, and maybe it's not POTS. I'm struggling with atrocious fatigue, which makes life difficult when my academia studies consist of reading and writing entirely. I've given up a lot this semester, and do nothing but blankly stare at the items I'm supposed to reading, but can't seem to focus/stay awake. I described this to the new cardiologist today, and he wants to take me off my medicines to see if it helps, though I did that for a full year, and felt no difference. I started to tear up and cry a bit, and he then asked me if I have ever seen a psychologist/psychiatrist . . . and that maybe all this stems from depression? When did crying equate immediately to depression? Frankly, I'm far from it . . . but absolutely frustrated.

It seems, because I'm not fainting or coming close to black-outs . . . since I stopped exercising seven years ago that it's not important and always phrased as "an annoyance in life, but nothing threatening." I've read this forum many times over the years, and I know my symptoms hardly compare to the majority . . . but I'm 21 year old, who feels like I'm 300 pounds and over 60 years old when I'm walking across campus . . . it's an exhausting life.

Hey, welcome to the club!

Believe me, there are people on here who understand, whether it's exhaustion or misdiagnosis.

Did you get a tilt-table test? That seems to be the "gold standard" for diagnosing POTS.

In any case, we're glad you joined us, though, as always, sad you needed to!

Amy