Lost Job Due To Fainting

I had lost by job about a month ago after fainting at work and being admitted to the hospital.

Does anyone know if this is against the law? I was working at Maine Medical Center cleaning patients rooms. They told me I'm always welcomed back if I am in good health. It was really to much for me..but I was hoping they could have found something for me to do sitting down. Now I'm not sure what I'm suppose to do. If I apply somewhere ealse and I tell them about this condition they probably wont hire me.

Wow, Heather. That's really awful!

I know that the law says "reasonable accomodations" must be made by employers so that employees can keep working, but I'm no lawyer. And I don't know how far "reasonable accomodations" go.

Would it be possible to look for a job that would be less likely to cause you to faint, such as a desk job? I have no problems at my job because I spend 98 percent of my time sitting.

Do you know anyone who's a lawyer? That might be the most help! If not, I think the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission would be the government office that deals with such things.

Wish I could be more help!

Heather, have you been at your job for over 12 months, and worked over 1,250 hours in previous 12 months? Because if you did, then you qualify for FMLA (If your employer has more than 50 employees).

That seems pretty awful for someone to do, especially an employer that is involved in healthcare.

Sorry I couldn't be more helpful

Angela

So sorry about your job, or lack thereof.

Please check out the FMLA for coverage quests and other FACS. Here is a "Synopsis of Law":

Covered employers must grant an eligible employee up to a total of 12 workweeks of unpaid leave during any 12-month period for one or more of the following reasons:

for the birth and care of the newborn child of the employee;

for placement with the employee of a son or daughter for adoption or foster care;