Peripheral Neuropathy

Hi all,

When I went down to Vandy in January, I was diagnosed with peripheral neuropathy in my feet and right hand after a sweat test showed I'd lost the ability to sweat in those areas. At the time I wasn't very concerned because other than having cold feet all the time, I never noticed any signs of nerve damage.

However, over the past few months I've started having more symptoms. I get burning feet at night, where the bottoms of my feet feel like they've been dipped in boiling water, and sometimes the tips of my toes go numb. I've also been getting the same feelings in my fingertips on both hands, like I have blisters on my fingertips and touching anything hurts.

I have an appointment with a neurologist in August, but I'm really worried something horrible's happening in my body. I mean, I can handle having POTS, but I'm a writer. If I lose feeling in my hands I don't know how I'll be able to write. The strangest thing is that my POTS is getting better, so it doesn't make much sense that my nerve problems would be getting worse. Ya know?

I was wondering if any of you have neuropathy like mine, and what's causing yours, and if it's gotten worse over time. The doctors at Vandy who diagnosed didn't offer an explanation.

Thanks,

Lauren