New Here, Looking For People To Talk To

Hi, everyone!

My name's Kate, I'm 18 years old, a freshman at Georgetown University, and I was diagnosed with POTS on Thursday after three years of endless tests, hospital stays, doctor referrals, and FINALLY a positive tilt table. While I'm relieved to actually know what's going on with me and thrilled to find what seems to be a VERY supportive community, after talking to my doctor, several nurses, and doing my own internet research I'm feeling very, very overwhelmed with everything.

I'm a serious pianist and I'm studying to work as a human rights relief worker in Africa someday. I want to grow up to get married, have a family, and truly do some hands on things to change the world. Now I'm terrified that I won't be able to do this. Just having a normal social life seems daunting enough - I've lost a lot of friends who haven't wanted to put up with the strains of having a friend with POTS. Luckily my parents are two of the most incredible people in the world, and I do have a few good friends who have been there for me through everything, and who are so fun to be around.

I'm really hoping to find other people out there who would like to talk and can share their stories with me. I'm great at listening, and as much as I'd like to find supportive people, I'm also great at BEING one of thos supportive people!

Is it really possible to date, fall in love, get married, have kids, and have a successful career with POTS?

I'd appreciate any wisdom or just input you have to offer!

What a wonderful community we have here! Things seem a lot less terrifying with all these resources.

Kate

Kate,

Welcome! I am glad you found us! :) This place have been my saving grace. I found this site a few days after I was told I had POTS also. I have found great support, and made friends here. This is a place I can talk about how I feel and everyone gets it.