Punctal plugs for your eyes

PattiL

Hi everyone,

The saga continues...Chrissy is still having so much trouble with her eyes. They're constantly burning, red and achy with or without her contacts. She's been to a allergy Dr.--nothing, so we're assuming this must be POTS related like everything else! She's had two shirmer's tests (which determine just how dry your eyes are), she's tried all types of eye drops including restasis. Nothing seems to work. We're seeing the opthmalogist again this week and I think the next step is going to be the plugs. I hope they help, but just wondered if anyone else has had them and with what kind of luck?

Patti

Hi,

I am an eye doctor and may be able to help you somewhat, although without seeing her, this is a bit of a guess. There are many different causes for dry eyes. Depending on the cause, I will usually go with a steroid drop to reduce inflammation, and start Restasis meanwhile ( it takes at least 90 days for Restasis to get to its full effect, BTW), then go to plugs if the patient is still having problems.

Plugs can be great (I have them), and I doubt you'd have any problems with the insertion procedure. Your major medical should cover it, too.

You want to be sure your allergies are under control and that your eyelids are healthy (no blepharitis, crusts, flakes, plugged glands, etc.). Actually, I guess your doctor will need to be sure your lids are healthy!

I don't think dry eyes are a direct consequence of POTS, though. POTS can be worsened with horSo, they may be entertwined.

I hope your doc is able to help you!

Diana

Hi Diana,