Pacemaker

taylortotmom

Hi, all. Monday, I had my follow-up appointment to check my pacemaker (which I have had for one month now). The appoinment took two hours. The tech kept rerunning the reading because she thought a lead in my pacer was not working correctly. So... we thought the surgery would have to be redone. I could have cried!

Well, the pacer is fine but I have documented atrial flutters now!!! It irritates the heck out of me because I knew I needed a defibrillater instead of a regular pacemaker. But, because I didn't have "atrial fib" (or so they thought when it was put in) it wasn't necessary! Arrrgh!!!! And the thing is it wasn't like a fluke- it was present every time she ran the reading.

So, now I have to be meticulous about taking my beta blocker which I had weaned myself off of thinking I was doing so much better. I go back in a couple of months to have it rechecked. It just annoys the you know what out of me because I have been saying for three years that I thought I had atrial fib!!! My cardio was not overly concerned but he said the beta blocker was a nonnegotiable thing now. So, there you go. Just a little ticked. But... overall, the pacemaker still has made a huge improvement in my life.

Oh, and when they check the pacer they can tell how often it paces. Mine has been pacing about 13% of the time. Which means it probably it paces at night while I'm asleep and that is why my mornings have been so much better. It only stimulates the bradycardia it does nothing to slow down the tachycardia. Hence, the need for the betablocker. Well, thanks for reading this- I know it could be much worse but its frustrating!

Carmen

PS I don't mind the beta blocker I'm just ticked about the atrial flutters that have not been "caught" before