Hi All....I need some advice....I'm a newbie!

Marli

Hi All,

I'm new here. I have been having problems with lightheadedness since July 2005. 7 Lonnnggg months now. B)

I usually get lightheaded after being up standing/walking for about 20 minutes. And am REALLY lightheaded after eating a regular size meal for about an hour & sometimes more. If I continue doing what I'm doing when this happens I get somewhat short of breath. I feel like I'm 80 yrs old and am having a real hard time keeping up with my 2 active preschoolers ( I have an almost 2 yr old boy and a 3 1/2 year old boy). I was tested for pulmonary embolism, arrythmias, anemia. I had a coronary calcium scan to check for heart disease & had a score of 0, had a normal echocardiogram, my thyroid was low but is ok now on medication. I thought it was possibly my inner ears, but the ENT said it isn't, I was told it could possibly be due to anxiety, but I know that it isn't & the only anxiety I have is that they aren't finding the cause of my problem. Then I came across information on POTS and my symptoms fit exactly. What a RELIEF!!!

So I brought the information I found to my doctor, and he had never heard of this !!??? My 30 day heart event monitor readings came back showing that I was tachycardic during my lightheaded episodes. And I have an appointment with a neurologist March 6th. A month from now. I have to travel 5 hours to see one.

So anyway, my family physician prescribed Atenolol, which seemed to help some the first few days. I've only been on it for 5 days. But today I am real lightheaded even though I'm being treated. Does it take a while for it to help? I'm only on 12.5 mg/day. My BP and Pulse have been good all day during these spells.

I have been drinking boullioun soup to add extra sodium to my diet. Normally my sodium is just below normal when I go in with symptoms.

So....... what do you guys think? Does it sound like POTS?