POTS/NCS since a small child

Wufflebear

I have had this since I was five at least. How many of you out there are like me?? My medical and story are at http://whackercat.tripod.com/id7.html .

I would be interested to know how many people are like me. :) Is it genetic?? From what I have read it seems like it can be. But I am still learning about it. I was undiagnosed until 2002 (at 31 years old).

Thank you all for responding. It was horrible as a kid and to be thru all that medical stuff to basically no avail. Man what a emotional knot it is to unravel. (-; I am glad I am not alone! No one in my family has anything like it either... :P

Is there a test they can do to tell you it is genetic??

Hi,

You can ask to be tested for the 3 genetic mutations they have found. Otherwise your relatives have to be tested to find out if any of them have the disorder. You can always check around in you extended family to see if anyone has similar symptoms has yours.

Do you remember what the name of the test is or what genetic mutations they are looking for? I live in the sticks and If they dont know which test to do, I may need to tell them.

I left a vm for the doc.... E Gads! I am so nervous!!!!! Wouldn't it be ahoot to finally find a REAL cause?!

Hi,

I have limited knowledge in the medical field but I think they have to test you for each of the 3 different mutations. One that is well know is the NET (Norepinephrine Transporter), another is the familial dysautonomia which is usually people of Jewish descent and the third I can't remember what it is but I know it was discovered at Vanderbilt.

I am not totally sure but it might be chromosome 9 and 13 and another one.

Genetic mutation is the most solid medical cause. No doctor can tell you that you have conversion disorder or Munchaussen after that.