Suggestion for People SOB

futurehope

I haven't been able to read each piece of each post on this forum, but I have a suggestion for people who have breathing difficulties. It is something I would do in a similar situation. If you had the "usual" breathing tests and there is still no reason for your shortness of breath, you can suggest to your doctor having an Achr antibody test done. It's a blood test that checks for an autoimmune disease - myasthenia gravis.

I realize that I'm no doctor and am unknowledgeable about many things, but breathing is a major body function.

I really took my time deciding whether I would post this or not. I do not want to scare anybody.

The reason I decided to post is, it seems like it's way too easy to blame everything on POTS or NCS and leave it at that without pursuing other possibilities for a particular symptom.

Since much is still unknown about why some people have POTS, I think it is important to keep in mind that there are other medical conditions out there that could be causing symptoms and it would be prudent not to get too complacent about the cause of a symptom - especially if you are feeling uneasy about it.

I hope I have not offended or scared anyone. And I wish everyone the best.

Mine was negative. My GP explained the SOB was from not geting enough oxygen to my brain. My brain then tells my respiratory system to breathe faster to get oxygen, but of course, due to poor circulation my brain still doesn't get all the O2 it wants so it is a vicious circle.

I'm curious as to what everyone considers SOB. Is it gasping and you can't get any air? Is it feeling like you just jogged around the block? Do you get SOB just sitting still or is it with activity? For me, I get SOB (feels like I just jogged) after walking up two or three steps or if I walk to quickly from the couch to the bathroom. I have also noticed that I don't get the SOB while I am actually moving, it happens once I stop moving.