Drug use or abuse and POTS

kjohnell

Hi!

I posted this message under a sub-category as well, but I am posting it on the main page so that maybe I get more responses.

My name is Kat and I have just been recently diagnosed with POTS. I am only 20 and had to abruptly drop out of my college classes to treat this horribly debilitating disease. I was wondering if anyone could give some advice on how you live day to day. I am a college student and I had an attack in class and immediately started hyperventilating and causing a scene, so I decided that the only resolution would be for me to drop out of my classes. I had extreme plans for my future and this syndrome is totally putting a dent in my life. My first attack was about 1 1/2 months ago, very spontaneous. I was wondering if anyone on this forum could possibly give some assurance on how long this will last or if it ever goes away. I was thinking since it came on so suddenly that it will alleviate itself in some spontaneous manner as well. Any answers? Also, Ive read that alot of younger men and women (especially women) suddenly undergo symptoms related to POTS and ultimately are diagnosed with POTS. Is the increasing number of younger diagnosed persons with POTS related at all to drug use? Because, I will admit, that before my symptoms I was smoking weed several times a day. When smoking weed started causing arrythmia along with many other panic-like symptoms it became more discomforting rather than pleasurable... so I quit. Would weed or any other drugs trigger this syndrome? B/C even now that I am off of all drug use even alcohol and stimulants such as caffiene, POTS-like symptoms persist. This includes: Light-headedness, sudden vertigo and dizziness, hyperventilation, headaches, numbness and/or tingling, heart palpitations and arrythmia..and so on (you get the idea). Also, symptoms seem to worsen with physical exertion and food intake which I think is common with POTS patients. Its SCARY and I fear that I may ne