POTS and periods

JMB

Hello all!

My name is Joy and I am very new to this network (this is my first post). I'm 21 years old and was diagnosed with POTS around 11 years ago. Growing up with POTS, it was very easily managed with different doses of propranolol. However, that stopped working about two years ago and due to other health complications I cannot take any other medications to control my POTS. In general, I have been able to keep up with my normal activity, including going to university, although I do things at my own pace and have lots of accommodations at school. I do experience episodes every now and then, especially when I get busy. However recently, I've noticed I'm having more episodes (near or full syncope, weakness, sweats, etc.) around my period. I've only started having my period regularly within the past year because of a change in birth control. I wanted to reach out and ask if other people experience this too? If you do, is there anything you find that helps less the intensity of the episodes?

Hello @JMB - welcome to the forum, Joy! I am sorry to hear you are going through all of this. -- I know that menstrual hormonal fluctuations can cause your body to retain fluid - that is why often we become bloated, swelled and gain weight around that time of the month. That means the body draws fluid from the circulation and that makes our blood "thicker". meaning it causes our body to work harder to circulate the blood. Sometimes that can cause a faster heart rate or brain fog ( b/c the blood does not get to the brain fast enough ) or passing out because our BP goes too low. Whatever the mechanism - what helps is taking in plenty of fluids and increasing salt intake ( this will help the body to keep the fluids in the vessels ). Compression stockings can help to maintain good circulation back to the heart, so the body does not have to work so hard to pump the blood back up.