Switching from atenolol to metoprolol

Ashleigh

Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here, but I've had IST for 7 years now. I've been taking atenolol for the last few years and it has worked really well for me. Unfortunately, I've been unable to find a pharmacy with atenolol to refill my prescription thanks to the current shortage. I was prescribed metoprolol XL instead, and I have felt awful since switching. Initially, I had frequent palpitations and high HR, dizziness, and headaches. After a few days on the original dose, my doctor increased my dose, and since then my heart-related symptoms have mostly improved, but I have had a near constant headache for days. Atenolol actually had the side benefit of improving my migraines, but metoprolol seems to be making them worse. 

Has anyone experienced anything similar switching from atenolol to metoprolol, or between any other beta-blockers? Is this just an adjustment period? I don't know whether to contact my doctor again about increasing the dose or trying a different beta-blocker, or if I should give it more time.

I actually switched from metoprolol to atenolol and atenolol was way too strong.  Had no issues with metoprolol, but atenolol required me to break the smallest pill they have in half.  Never messed with the metoprolol XL, have you talked to them about the regular/multi dose per day?

We're all different, but for whatever reason my body doesn't like extended release anything.

I was first prescribed metoprolol and couldn't tolerate it so I switched to atenolol. After that I tried a couple of other beta blockers without problem, so I think for me metoprolol wasn't the right drug.  This might be true for you too, or not. I encourage you to speak with your doctor.  Also, can you get atenolol from mail order, etc?

• 2 weeks later...

I have been taking atenolol 50mg extended release for about 5 years, and it’s been working well, especially after switching from the initial 25 mg dose, to 50 mg.