Birth Control Pills

Hi

Years ago my cardio recommended not using birth control pills, being that my heartrate was so unpredictable. Is this in line with others here were told? Any kind ok in dyasutonomia?(if you know the actual drug name instead of the brand name, that would be the best, I'm not in the US and our drugs are named differently.

Thanks

Ariella

I could never tolerate bcps. They cause my POTS to be worse. They do seem to actually help others however. I have never heard that they are inappropriate for all POTS patients. I think many POTS patients on this board do take bcps.

Wish I could be of more help. It may be a period of trial and error for you to find what works best for you.

Katherine

Hi, I am a nurse-midwife who is the charge clinician of a large gyn clinic. Autonomic dysfunction is not a contraindication for BCPS. My 17 year old duaghter has severe POTS. Actually, many MDs in this field recommend BCP. They many help some women retain fluid and they can even out the effects of the hormnne changes around periods. The only one I would not recommend would be yasmin. It has a progesterone that is similar to a diuretic. How you feel on BCPs can only be determined by trying them. I would recommend a monphasic BCP ( no weekly hormone changes). Also if you tend to feel worse around your period, it is easy to skip periods with monophasic BCPs. Skipping periods with BCPs is well researched and safe. Another possibly is the ortho evra patch or the nuva ring.

Louise

Louise, acutally, it can go either way... bcp's sent me into severe hypertension. However, for some it helps to stabilize them. The only way to know is to try. Apparently, for my subtype, progesterone and estrogen changes set off severe responses. Dr. Grubb, one of the primary experts in autonomic disorders, warned me that menopause would be very hard because of the hormonal changes.

Nina