Any Teachers? Need Some Advice

samip28

I'm currently a second grade teacher and am terrified for this upcoming year. I just got diagnosed and this new medicine makes me feel so weak. Any teachers out there with advice on how they got through the year? I did it last year but this year my symptoms are getting worse!

I would also like to hear about this topic. I am a preservice teacher (high school) and worked as a TA in second grade last year. I worked helf-time so that was a big help! It is very challenging. I sat down whenever possible, which was most of the time as my primary responsibility was tutoring.

Practicing energy conservation in every aspect of life can help. Here are a couple of resources I found:

http://www.bfwh.nhs.uk/visiting/patleaflets/leaflets/BFWH151%20%20-%20Occupational%20Therapy%20ENERGY%20CONSERVATION%20BOOKLET%20(v7).pdf

http://occupational-therapy.advanceweb.com/Article/Energy-Conservation-1.aspx

There are a few other teachers here. Hopefully they will join in. There was some discussion of this on a careers poll awhile back, if you want to search for it.

How long have you been on the new medicine, and have you discussed this side-effect with your doc? Maybe there is an alternative.

Currently I am in the process of asking for accommodations for my student teaching next spring. I am a little scared to do it, but I know that demands on teachers can quickly spiral out of control. Thus I feel the need to state my limitations up front so that I can work within them.

When does your school year start?

Thank you for the energy conservation strategies! I might give them a try! :)

I just got on the medicine maybe a month ago, I saw the side effects was fatigue so haven't really discussed yet with the doc. But when I go in for a checkup I want to talk to her.