Alcohol Intolerance

Loulou

I studied this info on many different web sites, but the simplest to understand was found at the mayo clinics health site, under alcohol intolerance. It's possible that some of us may have a genetic trait causing alcohol intolerance, which could mean that our body doesn't have the proper enzymes to metabolize the toxins in alcohol. So my flushing,stuffy nose,low bp, nausea may have nothing to do with my pots. Oh and just to add, I never get buzzed or feel drunk like everybody else. I literally, turn fifty shades of red.

So now I wonder if other (bad) genes could be causing my pots as well. The down side is there would be no cure ever. I want to do genetic testing, I'm interested in knowing.

There may be different reason for different people. I never had a problem with alcohol until I became very sick with POTS. I would attend parties weekly (you know that young party age) and had no issues with it. Once I got so sick with POTS I couldn't even take a sip of the stuff and certainly dont even crave it. Just thinking about it makes me feel bad. The few times I did attempt a drink I nearly passed out, had to lay down outside of a restaurant on the side walk, so I learned my lesson.

It might not have anything to do with a genetic trait involving enzymes and toxins -- but rather with (even gangolionic) acetylcholine receptors.

The academic literature is a little confusing, so here's a link of anecdotes from a myasthenia gravis forum (neuromuscular nicotinic acetylcholine receptors):

http://www.dailystrength.org/c/Myasthenia_Gravis/forum/15876076-alcohol-and-myasthenia-gravis