Urination Irregularities

Lel

Hi all,

Has anyone else experienced irregularities with urination? I have been having problems with excessive thirst and excessive urination. I'm new to the POTS world, but so far I haven't found any mention of this.

My rheumatologist thinks it's a dysautonomia problem, and my cardiologist thinks it's an autoimmune problem. The urologist is yet to find anything conclusive, but I go back to Cleveland Clinic later this week for more testing.

Side note: I have POTS, fibromyalgia, Raynaud's Phenomenon, undifferentiated connective tissue disease (UCTD), and lymphocytic colitis.

Thanks for your input!

Lel

I am so glad you created this thread! I go to the Urologist again today to talk about a bladder pacemaker to see if I'm a candidate for it. I have urinary retention and excessive urination. It's supposed to treat both conditions. I don't have the excessive thirst you mention. I don't know what is causing both of our problems. My Urologist said POTS may be causing some of my problems. Hopefully others on here will have some answers for you.

My understanding, urination is partly controlled by the autonomic nervous system, so dysautonomia can cause problems with urination.

I have excessive urination and urgency. I go every 30 minutes or so, but usually try to push it towards a hour. If I hold off at the first urge, it will subside for a bit, but then I start to risk urgency. When out of the house it is always on my mind, since if I hold for to long I risk disaster! When away from restrooms, it is a hard decision, do I dehydrate and feel bad, or risk not making it to a restroom in time!

Yes I get quite annoyed with my frequent urination. It comes and goes though and I certainly enjoy the break. I have had a cystoscopy and they didn't find anything really. They said I might try a mesh implant and glad I didn't since they seem to be causing problems in others.

Thank you guys!