Driving

Leigh8

Hi guys,

I had an appointment with my neurologist a few weeks ago and he told y I should not drive. I faint and am constantly dizzy, so I wasn't driving anyways. But, he made me sign a form saying I understand that I am a medically at-risk driver, and will not drive until I have a doctor's approval.

Apparently in my state medical professionals are not allowed/required to contact the DMV to remove a patient's driver's license, since it is a violation of HIPPAA. But I guess the hospital just does this form instead.

Has anyone else had this experience? Did your doctor forbid you from driving??

I'm sorry you feel so bad you can't/shouldn't drive. I haven't driven in over a year, it's killing me and wearing down relationships of those around me having to always depend upon others to get me places. My doctor did not tell me not to drive, I just know that I can barely function as it is and that driving would be a disaster. I don't trust myself in the car, not alone and definitely not with my kids. When I told me current/new neurologist that I wasn't driving and hadn't been, he acted weird and kept questioning why. I thought it was obvious that I just said I'm extremely lightheaded!!! He should agree and not want me on the road too.

My doctor has never forbid me to drive, however..... there are many days that i know i cannot do it, nor can i drive safely, so i will stay home. Many times I can make it 3 miles and have to pull over and lay down in the seat..... i have no energy or strength in the limbs, especially arms and neck. I can't even hold my arms up to drive, and I cannot even hold my neck up either. I always feel like I'm "stuck" in some type of "pre faint mode" but for long periods of time. This disease has affected my driving for about 5-6 years now. It's gotten a bit better though. I very much understand. HUGS.

tennille :)