Exercise Thread

jangle

Hello all, since exercise seems to be at least one component of getting better I'd like to make a thread where people discuss their exercise regiments, the progress (or failures) they've encountered and a place where we can support each other to stick with our goals.

------------------------------------

I'm just beginning my exercise regiment over again. In theory what we're trying to do is mimic marathon runners. Several studies such as this one http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1498337/pdf/bmjcred00606-0026.pdf

show that for fit athletes, their resting heart rate goes down significantly. (In the study, some of the most fit athletes have resting heart rates of 30-40!!)

I'm not sure why this is but my biology professor remarked that their venous return gets to be so strong that the heart barely has to lift a finger to get the blood back to itself.

Unfortunately it seems like it takes rather high levels of fitness to achieve some of the lower heart rates, but in theory it should work for us.

I think the major areas to target is aerobic exercise for general fitness and then weight lifting for the calves + thighs as well as daily abdominal workouts. Working out the abs should have the highest effect since this is where most of the blood pools in OI patients such as ourselves.

Hope to hear from you and remember,

get better!

Ive exercised the whole time that I have had POTS.

My initial fitness regime was pretty pathetic because I had no idea what was wrong with me and consisted of short nightly walks. I improved over time either way.