Autonomic Neuropathy

Hi Guys,

I was researching neuropathy for my best friend and found an article on the sub types of neuropathy. I was shocked when I read this as it sounds EXACTLY like dysautonomia. I found this Mayo article and wanted to share it and see what you guys think. I wanted to add that I have been doing this for 2 years and I honestly never had this referred to in any of my reading!

KC

Check out the article....

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/autonomic-neuropathy/DS00544

Autonomic neuropathy is dysautonomia. But not all dysautonomia is necessarily autonomic neuropathy. As I understand it, autonomic neuropathy refers to actual damage to the nerves and by extension, usually quantifiable damage...gastroparesis counts, but irritable bowel would not. When my doctor found that my feet and part of my lower legs didn't sweat at all, he added 'autonomic neuropathy' to my chart.

The Autonomic Neuropathy is often the problem. That is my diagnosis. The nerves control the body functions, blood vessles, muscles etc, and then do not work right. I am working on it with Lipoic Supreme. ALA. It is really good. Healing my nerves.

I love this site! I was just researching autonomic neuropathy yesterday and was going to ask this question myself. I have severe burning pain in my feet-- EMG testing was normal. When I looked up "burning feet" I came up with 'small fiber neuropathy' which EMG testing doesn't pick up on. From there it went into autonomic neuropathy. Then I started wondering if it's possible that I have small fiber neuropathy which is causing the autonomic symptoms (POTS). My understanding is that a skin biposy can confirm this daignosis. Anyone with information on this -- please educate! :D

Hi,